After the rain

Wow, I thought we were going to have a repeat of 2007 yesterday. After I blipped I took favourite M.i.L. to church in TORRENTIAL rain, thunder, lightning the lot. So much rain fell that chaos reigned on the roads (no pun intended). Flooding quickly developed under bridges, on roundabouts, at roadworks on the way. It was a busy time of day too and I must have seen 50 or more cars with no headlights on but their wipers going at ten to the dozen, which means very fast! Have they NEVER read the highway code!
It did stop after about a couple of hours but still raining when I picked her up from church 1.5 hours later. I had to go under a railway bridge where the road dipped and was flooded, didn't have my camera on me but wouldn't have been able to stop as the police were guiding people through. 4 or 5 cars, BMW, Mondeo, etc. all biggish cars, were broken down with the water. The little Suzuki Alto bubbled it's way through, people really don't know how to drive through floods.
This morning it was raining again, not too heavy though, and it stopped at lunchtime. When I took Jonty out this is what it was like, lower clouds scudding across the sky, those high wisps of cloud were stationary.

My reference to 2007 is about when a huge area from Tewkesbury to Gloucester was without water for about 3 weeks. Water for cisterns, washing etc. was provided by large bowsers on the roads where we would fill buckets, watering cans etc. When mains water was flowing again we could only use the mains water for bathing/washing but not drinking for a further 3 weeks. Throughout all this time the government provided bottled water for drinking to all households, which we picked up from points around the city/county. The cause of the water problem was that the floods had knocked out the Mythe Water Pumping station at Tewkesbury.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i0TS_bOI5-w

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.