I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

First Day Back!

I went out this morning with my friends, dropped my ball about 100 yards from the green, and then putted. It felt good to be back on the course after eight months away.

While I have been gone, they have torn out all the greens, have redesigned some of them and are now rebuilding them. We are playing on temporary greens, so the putting is haphazard at best.

The course is in pretty rough condition, but by November it will be like a brand new course. In the meantime, I will enjoy being out again, getting my game back, (except for the putting!) and being with friends.

In the main picture, you can see the 9th green that is ready to be seeded in the bottom left. The temporary green for the 9th hole is where the cart with the dog in it is. 

That is Zach, the greens keeper and his dog Oscar. They are checking out the course before the first group goes out. Oscars' job is to chase all the geese away. They are smart enough to know he is out in the morning and don't arrive until the afternoon when he is not there!

The extra is Zach and Oscar going to the 10th hole to see how it is looking. 

These were taken about 6:15am. I love being one of the first ones out in the morning. I was back home at 9:30am.

Friday, I am going to drop further away from the greens so I will be taking two swings each hole.

I am grateful to live in a golf course community, where I can roll out of bed, have coffee, throw some clothes on, play a round of golf and still have most of the morning and afternoon left to do other things. Life doesn't get much better than that for this girl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.