rainbowsparklie

By rainbowsparklie

Hose pipe ban?

Today was my first day on a 'Growing leaders' programme, run by Capital growth http://www.capitalgrowth.org

They are a dedicated bunch turning likely and unlikely spaces in London into food growing areas.

I'm new to all this 'green' and 'gardening' malarky. But taking on the most stereotypical recovery I have really enjoyed goin' down the allotment. Now I've joined some others from across the city and we're sharing ideas and experience in food growing and community development. My aim is to develop our hospital allotment space.

Today I was like a sponge - plants I never knew existed, aspects, designs, soil quality, vertical gardens, irrigation systems, winning over your local priest...

Sorry what was that?
A garden on a roof?
A primary school roof?
You've got to be kiddin'!

I drew a breath, here I was thinking was developing a bog standard allotment plot and deciding whether we were planting leeks or carrots. I suddenly realised that I need to think a lot more openly and creatively if I'm to learn anything with these guys. They are growing everywhere and anywhere - it's fascinating and inspiring.

As I strolled back to the tube, like a blaring alarm, the firefighters at Ladbroke Grove shouted this is how you do it. A warm smile grew as I thought of them in their down time tending carefully to their plants, probably ignoring any hose pipe ban. Ok, they probably have more of a head for heights than a primary school teacher with her Year 3's tending to runner beans.

Thankfully my plot is bog standard and groung level, The NHS would have a heart attack if were to be more than 4ft of the ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.