Master of Creative Writing with 1st class honours

Today was graduation day for S. Lunch in the department at AUT. Then a short walk to the Aotea Centre, S' brother and I queued for almost a half hour until they finally opened the doors to let us in. The ceremony was really good, with a lot of spontaneity interspersed through the gravitas. Maori graduates were often greeted with enthusiastic chanting, singing and the occasional haka. Pasifika graduates also received singing and praise from their families. S' brother and I were slightly more decorous in our behaviour; we just yelled out enthusiastically as she was capped.

Afterwards, three of her classmates and assorted whanau (family) repaired to a central city bar/restaurant where we celebrated and had food to mark the importance of the occasion. Here, I was able to record this picture of the clever, beautiful and generally wonderful woman who shares my life with me and allows me to share hers.

I have now added as an extra a photo of a photo taken before the Graduation Ball after her first degree (BSc) was conferred

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.