Best Birthday Ever!

We had a glorious day. I kept my promise and remained unplugged all day and night. The arboretum was breezy, dappled, and in full leaf, and we laughed our way through it. Our picnic in the park was pure delight and more laughter. In the afternoon we spent some time reading aloud parts of Sharon Salzberg's new book, Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection, including this bit: "To say I am grateful for the things I went through in childhood is a bridge too far for me. But I know those experiences are what allow me to connect to people, heart to heart." Then she quotes Roshi Joan Halifax, "Think of [childhood trauma] as givens, not as gifts." Yes. "If something is a given, we don't deny it or look the other way. We start by acknowledging it, then see how we can have absolutely the best life possible going forward."

Toward dusk we took a stroll through my neighborhood to an Italian restaurant, where we followed Pokeybagel's advice and shared an Aperol and soda, something neither of us had ever heard of till she posted her blip of it. We felt as if we were playing like grownups, playing at being sophisticated and elegant. Dinner, more laughter, then home to my place, where we had dessert and dreamed our way to a possible adventure for December. 

I see many have left me birthday greetings here and on Facebook, for which I am grateful . Thank you to each person for their kindness. Thank you. Thank you all. This message for all you young people: it gets better. I've never before been as happy as I am right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.