Damselfly

Most of today we could hear what sounded like a couple of birds near to the river behind our house, so this afternoon I went on a little expedition to track them down.
As I got nearer I realised that the two calls were coming from the other side of the river but one was to my left and one to my right. I think they were both young buzzards and that they were on the verge of fledging. We get a lot of them overhead around here but these were definitely amongst the trees and foliage.
I noticed today that there is a huge amount of Himalayan Balsam on both banks. It is very pretty but is also a non-native invasive plant and smothers all the indigenous plants. It's a shame because in some places that's all that could be seen. When we first moved here nearly 11 years ago, C spoke to our local council and offered to get into the river in his dry suit to dig them out by the roots along the river banks, if the council could put together a working party to help, but we didn't even get a reply.
There were lots of damselflies amongst the nettles there. I believe that this is a male Banded Demoiselle. If you look large, he's got what looks like long eyelashes above his eyes, as well as a hairy back. 
There were some big beasty dragonflies too, but none would stay still very long, even though I asked nicely. 
Achieved today? Several very large bags of clothes for the charity shops. I've also made the sauce part of a fish curry for tomorrow evening, from a recipe given to me by a colleague whose family is from Bangladesh. It smells wonderful. Amongst other ingredients it has finely sliced peel of clementines in it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.