Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A-Z food challenge: E is for Egypt

Tonight I decided to make Kushari, widely reputed to be Egypt's 'national dish' though I don't know whether that's true. A combination of rice, lentils and pasta, it's cheap and easy to throw together from cupboard ingredients and makes a filling meal.

I also made Tamiyah, falafels made from fava beans (broad beans), with a Taratour sauce. The falafel recipe called for dried fava beans but I couldn't find any, so I ended up using frozen broad beans instead. They still ended up very tasty (and very green!)

So, woohoo, the weekend is here, which means I get to have a little break and will start up the challenge again with 'F is for France' on Monday. I've really enjoyed the challenge so far and I don't think we've eaten so well in a long time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.