Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

You wait two years...

I've lived in Southend for a little over two years now, and each year, there's a full blown air show with thousands of people lining the sea front. The Red Arrows are there, the wing walkers are there, the Battle of Britain flight are there, the Typhoons are there. This year, even Easy Jet was there!

But what I've always wanted to see and managed to miss on both occasions over 4 days of show is a Vulcan Bomber. I'm not sure what it is that fascinates me about them...

Maybe it's their size, or maybe it's the noise I imagine them to make. Maybe it's that they look so different to anything you might see on a day to day basis.

So imagine my surprise when after just setting up my tent at Sedgefield Race course (which was to be my accomodation for the Great North Run weekend), I hear a raw of a jet engine and lowe and behond, a few 100 feet above my head was my very own personal Vulcan Bomber!!

If I can be a little bit geeky for a moment - It's stunning. It just seemed to glide through the air so slowly. And the noise? To be honest - I was surprised how quiet it was! I would have thought something so old and low and big would have been deafening!

Luckily I had my phone out doing a spot of remote blipping and managed to grab a photo just before it went over the grand stand and away to who knows where!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.