Gull Epilogue

On Monday I posted a blip indicating that I thought the series of photos I had taken of gulls nesting and rearing their young was coming to an end as the two juveniles were now able to fly. 

I went to check the situation out today and my suspicions were well founded as the mother bird sat alone on the roost (see centre)and there were no signs of the youngster returning. I contented my self with trying to capture a few birds in flight (see top) - an adult and juvenile. Looking down to sea level, I saw a couple of young birds floating around in a patch of the sea near the rocks when all of a sudden an older bird chased them off what must be its private fishing grounds (bottom left). I thought it was quite cute that one of the juveniles flew directly to its mother on a rock above to seek solace (bottom right).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.