Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

A Great Day for Dragon Hunting

I tried to get over to the ponds before it got really hot but I was too late.  It was about 11:30 and already in the high 90s.  I remember being active on sunny hot days and hardly noticing it but I just can't take the heat like I used to.  So I only spent about half an hour and I hated to leave because there was so much to see.  I really need to skip the second cup of coffee and get myself out earlier!  My main blip is a female Variegated Meadowhawk.  The first extra is the male.  The second extra is a male Eastern Amberwing and the third is a female Band-winged Meadowhawk.  These were all at the small pond where the Osprey nest is located.  I thought maybe I'd get to see the young fledglings but the nest was empty so they must have been on a family outing. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.