Blush response

By Esper

Bishop and Deacon

I was privileged this morning to attend the Ordination of our School Chaplain, Paul Tolhurst, into the office of deacon, serving at The Mission to Seafarers, Kobe and St. Andrew's Chapel. I have no doubt that Paul will fulfill his duties admirably, bringing to the role his outstanding warmth, charm, humour, compassion, gentility and, above all, humility. Paradoxically, despite all these sterling qualities, Paul is the least holy minister I have ever had the pleasure to meet, a deficit which makes him all the more praiseworthy. Although we may disagree about its nature and its source, Paul certainly does possess some kind of divine spirit which shines from within, and I am sure he will continue not to preach, but to make visible the love of God. My best wishes go with you along the path of your future service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.