Day 9

Day 9. Slaidburn to Thirlmere. 65 very hilly miles. Another good day's riding up an epic climb to the Cross of Greet then across the last bit of Lancashire and in to Cumbria. The climb was immense but so worth it. The Lancashire moors are stunning. So bleak and beautiful, breath taking. As we climbed up I could feel my knee was getting sore.

We stopped for lunch in Kendall and the pain was getting really bad, probably my lowest of the trip. I could see me not finishing and realising how much I wanted to be at John o'Groats with Mr PB. So in Windermere I stopped in boots and had a chat with the pharmacist. I cam out with instant cold packs, knee support and ibuprofen she did suggest a hot water bottle, but I said I was on a bicycle! The afternoon was easier and I felt much better

Through Kendal, Windermere, Ambleside and up Dunmail Raise. A nice quiet road around the back of Thirlmere, by now my spirits had lifted and ibenjoyed the rest of the tide. On to our B&B, slightly quaint but very friendly. Underwhelming dinner in the nearby pub but the beer was ok.

On to Scotland tomorrow. We're about half way now with approximately 527 miles done.

This sheep was quite curious on the descent from Cross of Greet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.