Kotuku or White Heron

I think this is my 3 year blipday.  It is hard to believe that three years have passed so quickly. I remember at the start how worried I was that I would not be able to find a photograph every day – and the rubbishy photographs I blipped in desperation when I had nothing else. That seems so unimportant now.

Like most of us, at times I have contemplated leaving Blipfoto when demands on my time get overwhelming but the thing that keeps me going are the people. As you all know, it is a great community of kind, generous and interesting people and I would be sad to lose touch.

One thing that hasn’t changed over the three years is my love of birds and their behaviour. It still fascinates me and is always my first choice of subject.

Today, although I went out looking for a kingfisher, I was delighted to see the Kotuku or white heron. Although common in many countries there are only about 200 in New Zealand which makes it rather special.  As usual, the Kotuku wasn’t close enough to get the shot I would like. It fished for a short while before flying back out in the direction of the marina. The slightly soft pic of the heron departing is in the extras.

The kotuku breeds in a single spot on the West Coast of the South Island. In October, Blipmate and I are joining a tour to visit the breeding grounds. How exciting is that!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.