Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Sculptural

I moved to Portland in 2008 and was drawn to this sculpture by Manuel Izquierdo the minute I saw it. At that time, neither of these children was even a thought in their parents' minds. I blipped this sculpture at some point, but I must not have been using tags then, because I can't find it. Maybe I deleted it.

As the children played on it today, I felt how much more precious the sculpture is to me with their bodies adorning it (even with the vulgar graffito); and how much richer my life is, with them in it. 

Update: I found the old blip of this sculpture, and reading the comments really takes me back. I see that Bella had been born when I blipped it, but she was still an infant at that time, and I had not dreamed of seeing her long lanky body draped over its curves and angles. (Tag added.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.