The pond

From the moment I woke up it was clear I wasn't heading to the mountains though to be fair I'd given up on that idea yesterday. The possibility of duck shooting on the last day of the season wasn't realistic either.

Smart decisions on my part as the day started off at -6.5 degrees. I thought it looked whiter-than-white outside. Not that that slowed the little pope down. He disappeared through his cat door after breakfast and ran straight across the road to chase birds on the swale. Only the creek stopped him and I'm sure he'd jump it if he really wanted to. Almost immediately something caught his attention so he streaked diagonally across t-intersection to chase it. He's still alive and is asleep in his favourite paper bag.

I got on with gently directing myself through the day in that slightly other world robotic way that a head cold induces. Late morning I went for a walk. The sun was welcome, the cool breeze less so, but I was rugged up. At midday I found frost in the shade on the edge of the path in Foster Park.

Other than stopping to admire the pond I walked as far as the Selwyn Aquatic Centre. It's an impressive pool complex 15mins walk from my place or a few minutes drive. In case you hadn't noticed I prefer my exercise outside but the pool opens up other possibilities and once I'm better I might give it a crack.

The breeze was less welcome after lunch but I put my beanie on and persevered with re-potting a number cuttings and plants. It's going to take me time to decide on what to do with my garden and even longer to do it. The ground is rock hard and the locals tell me I'll need a pick and probably new soil as what's here is rubbish. For now I'll aim to keep what I have neat and tidy. It stayed cold as I noticed paint pail by the door off the back of the garage still had ice on the lid.

It's only just 8pm and I'm well and I'm going to give in to my yawning and sneezes and go to bed.

Today's gratitude: The re-kindling of an old and dear friendship. Various changes resulted in an unintended loss of contact. We've graciously reconnected and I feel blessed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.