Upfest

Upfest, in Bedminster in Bristol, is 'Europe's largest street art and graffiti festival'. Masses of aerosol paint going onto walls the whole length of North Street, its side roads and backyards: freehand artworks four storeys high, small delicate paintings, stencilled fantasies and very much more. Masses of good-natured beer being consumed in pubs and on the streets - I've never seen such a long queue outside Tesco.

I've also never seen street art being produced from an i-pad, as here behind the Tobacco Factory. It all feels a lot more considered than when I last came to Upfest about seven years ago.

The inside of my lungs is now a tasteful abstract in purple and green.


Extra 1: street embroidery at Upfest
Extra 2: the demolition watchers in Easton - I was struck by the age, ethnic and social diversity of this little group.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.