A picture-postcard photo

... from a picture-postcard place. In the heart of the Loire Valley, Chinon lies on the Vienne, and I loved these reflections in the river. My Extra indicates the "messing about on the river" aspects of the Vienne, in contrast to its size and majesty.

The medieval town is steeped in history: its ancient chateau was the favourite residence of (our) Plantaganet King Henry II, who also died here. It was also the birthplace of his son, Richard the Lionheart.

It was where Joan of Arc visited the Dauphin Charles VII, and where satirist Francois Rabelais was born. There are statues to both Joan of Arc and Rabelais in the town. Here's a link that tells more of this beautiful old town.

Rabelais apparently wrote a one-line will: "I have nothing, I owe a great deal, and the rest I leave to the poor."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.