Scribbler

By scribbler

"Renew Me, Lord"

Hymn music by Bernadette Farrell, text by her husband Owen Alstott, two British shining lights in Catholic liturgical music.

Liturgical faiths like Catholicism and Anglicanism require much juggling of books, bulletins, and leaflets. Here you see what I had to put away at the end of Sunday mass.

I took this picture in order to have a copy of hymn 643, which I hadn't encountered before. I liked the words and the music very much.

O God, I seek safe harbor in this storm
a place of peace in which my soul can form
the inner strength to follow day by day
your will for me unceasingly.
Renew me, Lord, I pray.


O God, I seek from time to time the joy
afforded those whose daily deeds employ
the work of love giv'n freely, come what may.
O Charity, come dwell in me.
Renew me, Lord, I pray.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.