Mitchell, B-25's

    It finally stopped raining today.  I have a rain gauge outdoors for my bonsai....  I measured a little over 3" of rain today, may be 3 1/4".  Once i was sure that the rain was done, I went to town and photographed this mural on the back of the pavilion.   These are a pair of B-25's or sometimes called the Mitchell b25.  They are flying away from our Williston airport.  During WW11, pilots came to Ocala and Williston for training.  Our airport is long enough to land a 747.    Many pilots learned to do "touch and goes", which is the very basics for pilots .  If pilots can't land a plane or take off safely, they were of no use.  The Ocala and Williston airports were an important part of the war effort during that time.
     I carefully studied all of the murals today and came to realize that everything that has been painted is an integral part of Williston and the people that have lived here for much of their lives, even generations.
Tomorrow I will highlight another mural of life in Williston.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.