Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

And Off We Go

Today we finally left on our journey! All preparations done. Yesterday my sister came over and brought dinner and helped me get some things done. What a blessing that was!

We left late morning, drove to Folkestone and drove onto the Eurotunnel for a 430pm departure. Today was supposed to be one of their busiest days of the summer but all went smoothly without much delay, even though both the UK and French passport control were very busy. Before we boarded the train, Dolly had some time to run around the wonderful Walkies area. They certainly are dog-friendly on the Eurotunnel! Not just this, but the fact that Dolly and I can stay together, unlike the ferries where you have to leave the dogs behind in the car. Unacceptable for us, so the Eurotunnel it is!

The actual crossing is only 35 minutes and once we got to Calais (630pm with the hour time change), we drove another hour to a campsite I'd booked for the night. I realised later that I'd booked the wrong one - silly me! I had a window open on my computer from when I was browsing at campsites, and I didn't pay much attention when I came back to book it a few days later. I booked one that I'd allocated to the 'reject' pile! Oh well, it didn't kill me, but I'm not much one for bingo, entertainment every night and neon lights! And all that makes a site even more expensive! What a silly mistake!

I'd meant to do a collage, but I'm on the road and have had very inconsistent wifi and mobile coverage, and for some reason my new phone won't let me use my photo app offline like my last one did. Weird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.