GracieG

By GracieG

The Hospital and the Hare...

...not a fable by Aesop though. This is Horatio…who sits in the conservatory, I only took a head and shoulders shot so that you couldn’t see that I need to dust the windowsill that he’s sitting on!  Actually, as a subject, he has nothing whatsoever to do with my day, the start of which was an appointment at the Eye Clinic at the Norwich and Norfolk Hospital early this morning.  Good news that my eye pressures have reached normal levels at last and my glaucoma is stable…next check in a year’s time (I had been going every three months after emergency laser surgery in January)!
Coming out into the sunlight was a bit of a shock though, having had those special eye-drops that dilate my pupils, it was like walking into a hugely overexposed photo, I couldn’t get my sunglasses on quick enough!
The next bit was more fun…a trip to the Wex Photography shop in Norwich…and after much discussion and indecision (and a very patient assistant, thank you James) I finally changed my rather basic 18-55mm kit lens for a much better quality 24-120mm one.  It was a Nixon used lens but in really good condition and about half the price of a new one.
Hence the photo of the hare…I was sitting waiting to use the PC once M had finished on it and took the hare photo to try it out.  Not the world’s greatest photo but much sharper than it would have been with my old lens.
Oh…and I also bought a monopod to try, I do struggle with holding the camera steady and both my new lenses (I bought a new macro lens a couple of weeks ago) are heavier, so I think it might help me take sharper images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.