Not every day

By ppatrick

Out of office... or the icing on the cake

Have had my last day in the office, ahead of formal retirement from my university post at the end of August. I will have been here exactly ten years, following fifteen years at my previous university and before that 20 years in local authority social work; 45 years in total of continuous salaried and pensioned employment. Time for a change, but my initial enthusiasm when I made the decision last summer has lately been invaded by decidedly mixed feelings - regret at projects not seen through and opportunities missed, sadness at the loss of many good colleagues (and the discovery that perhaps I was valued more than I knew). One day recently I was feeling particularly down, when a colleague left my office after a meeting saying "I'll be back in a moment" and returned with this creation. To call it a cake would be far too prosaic, and I have no particular urge to cut or eat it. I was just blown away by the gesture, and by the care, generosity and planning that went into commissioning this gift (and bringing it to work in a large box on the train). 

Later the same day I was taken out to eat and drink by another group of colleagues, who at the meal had a round of saying nice things about me. Morale was duly restored, and I face the future with the confidence on display here, in cake icing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.