Devonian

By Mover

The Patter of Tiny Feet

I can't say that the seagulls disturb us much, apart from a bit of noise around dawn. Sometimes though, at an unearthly hour I hear the patter of tiny feet on the roof, which tends to give my heart a soft thud until I remember what it is. I don't know if we have any regulars on our roof or garden because I can't see any distinguishing marks. One of our rooftop habituees did have only one leg so I recognised that one. I haven't seen it for a while but having seen his difficulties moving without flight I don't think it spends the night on the tiles, or walks about in the dim light, pretending to be a ghost or intruder. I haven't seen it for a while anyway. Whenever we hear the seagulls making a complete din there is usually a buzzard in the sky, being mobbed and divebombed. We look forward to this spectacle which happens at least once a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.