Leiflife

By Leiflife

Menage a Trois? Or what?

My first reaction on coming upon this cluster of mothness was one of horror. Luna moths had been on my mind, as they had been seen and photographed lately by family members. So I had been on the lookout as I returned from my morning walk. When I first saw these I saw some sickening version of Luna Moth, monstrous and devouring of one another, and in the process turning that lovely pale green color brown and pink and yellow.... My stomach turned over and I felt betrayed by my beloved nature. I took a few pictures, but felt too awful to attend to exposure or clarity. The pictures were to show to someone who would be more curious then distressed. My cousin, Adele at the Shearwater Pottery Annex was the answer.

Soon Wikipedia revealed the true nature of my discovery: Polyphemus Moths. A cluster of three were hanging on a young pine in a state of rapt indecision. Who would get the lady? Meanwhile I went back in a very different state of mind to photograph more carefully. Eventually, Adele's husband, Tim, came to join me. A little company was good, but I must be mindful; not be tempted to compare equipment. His camera and lens were pretty impressive, though he was very encouraging and helpful when it came to technical tips. He is a very fine photographer, and a sweet man. I sneaked a portrait which I will include in extras. Also one of those first scary overexposed photos. Maybe a couple of more...

I actually have a little history of Polyphemus moths by way of my parents, who in the early years of their marriage, hunted moths in the very woods where my home and studio now stand. Then it was called Fairyland. Daddy had a tree house in one of the tallest pines. Moth hunting involved kerosene lanterns and sticky sweet stuff that was spread on trees. I imagine the hunt was artistically inspired. I seem to remember that Polyphemus was particularly sought after. A bit disturbing to my current self. 

I was pretty worn out by the end of the day, unable to blip until the next morning. I am pretty sure this blip will have a next day follow-up. 

My attempt to link with Wikipedia failed, so if interested please do a search on these incredible creatures. I am way behind in comments. Been having a sort of gestation period I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.