Marygold

By Marygold

lavender blue

Despite not really looking forward to the cycle ride, once aboard I rattled though my 10 miles, linking pavements cycle ways and roads to minimise hazards.

On my mid afternoon dog walk I was taken aback to discover a small hedgehog on our front lawn. There have been fewer and fewer over recent years. Once, a late night dog walk would have revealed many of these little creatures tanking across the road, snuffling in the grass or scurrying along to some previously discovered hiding place. I rescued many into carrier bags and deposited them unceremoniously in the school field nearby, which is fenced in and quite spacious with gaps for smaller hedgehogs to escape. It was always safer than leaving them too close to the edge of the busy road. Today I whisked out a small plastic bag, rolled it in and carried it to a safer place. I checked later, it was nowhere to be seen so I assume it thought its new location was suitable. Fingers crossed.

The blip is of the new range of planters to brighten the rather too expansive drive. It's just wide enough for 2 cars which we needed for a long time but now I'd rather it was more green and could support more wildlife. Just st not hedgehogs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.