The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Dawn flight

A cold and frosty morning, the first we have had this season. I was out of bed early hoping for a misty morning after all the rain we have had lately. But there was none today, and the sky was cloudless which dampened the dawn colours from the top of Dallam Park.

The morning warmed up, and I let Reg loose in the garden with his tracker attached. I watched him on and off through the morning as he patrolled the garden then headed into the shade, where he dug himself into the damp earth. Clearly he thinks it's time to hibernate, but it's a little early yet. We had to excavate him at the end of the day, and he is back now in the garden room.

I have built the winter log pile today, and the wood burner will probably be lit tomorrow for the first time this side of Summer. I mowed the lawn for what will probably be the last cut of the year. And I have a terrible confession: we now have one less frog. The frogs love the dense thatchy grass and clover that is left uncut to encourage foraging bumblebees. I have to mow tentatively around the edges to give the frogs time to hop it. But this one didn't move, and hidden in the dense grass I didn't see him until it was far too late. I've been feeling dreadful about that all afternoon.

There was a splendid sunset this evening, but for once I resisted temptation, and cooked the evening meal instead. Arnside Simon dropped by for a chat and a cup of tea, and told me what I had missed - the photographers were thronging the Sandside prom. But at least I had been out for the dawn, the first time for a long time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.