Unintentional Emulation

We popped in to see the van Dyck and other male portraits in an exhibition at the Scottish National Portrait Gallery on our way to Festival events.  I walked into the main hall and nearly fell over the elastic rope cordoning off the centre of the hall, which is normally open.  It's off limits for this - an installation by Douglas Gordon called Black Burns, featuring a black version of the white Robert Burns statue broken into bits lying around.  I was annoyed as other people kept popping into the photos I was taking, but actually this one is rather good, as whoever he is, has unintentionally adopted almost the same stance as the statue. From the gallery above I saw several other people do what I did, and nearly trip over the rope. Bound to cause an accident sooner or later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.