Homemade Rain Gauge!

During the long, hot and rainy dog days of August here in Florida, To  water or not to water? is the question of every day.
  My bonsai matser suggested I make my own Rain gauge.   I did!   I took a coffee cup, drew a line down the inside with a sharpie pen, then on one side I marked off inches, and on the other I marked I marked 1/2".   Then I put it outside where it would collect rain unimpeded by trees, roof's......  out in the open.
   Here is how it works.....   an inch of rain is an inch of rain, whether in a bucket, a cup or an expensive  gauge.     Yesterday I got a 1/4" of rain....I watered my trees.    Today I got 1 1/2" of rain by 10am.....  I did not water.  If I get more rain this afternoon, I will not water all day...   if no more rain, I will lightly water around 2.  It is necessary for 2" of rain daily,  so that one doesn't have to go out and water the bonsai trees.
     The measurement of the rainfall really put in perspective, for me,  what 2" of rainfall really looks like and whether or not the roots got soaked, once daily,   Now I really know if there has been enough rain to keep my trees healthy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.