Red Admiral Nelson

Like the man himself, this little butterfly looked brave and courageous. 

Apparently, Lord Nelson had his arm amputated without anaesthetic but headed for the opium afterwards.  With four legs remaining, she was holding steady in the strong winds between the heavy showers today.  Perhaps she headed for the poppies when injury arose!

Being a migrant and looking at those wings, I wonder if she's crossed the seas too.

I can't normally get close to red admirals so was pleased that she was prepared to let me admire her battle wounds.


UPDATE: Just discovered that he does have six so no need to feel sorry for him after all! On double checking that butterflies do indeed have six legs (I thought that my level of primary school science wasn't that far out!), I found an article on how the front two are little used and are tucked up in front.  They have little brushes and hairs that they can use to sense smell and taste - I reckon you can just make them out, tucked under his chin.  

Well, phew!

...But she's still Red Admiral Nelson to me :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.