October 4th Journal

By IONAX

College of Art and Crafts

After making some animated short films and commercials for TV the head of the teaching department in The Icelandic College of Art and Crafts thought in 1982 that it would be great to have me teach art teachers how to make animation with 8mm cameras so they could do that with their pupils... she asked me and I said "Yes, of cause..."

I just love to make long stories short and three years later half my job was teaching all kinds of film making in the teacher's department, the graphic department and occasionally in the modern art department.

Then the college got a new head master who always left his door open, and one day when I was on my way to the cafeteria, he called my name and asked me to step into his office. I sat down and he told me what I already knew that I had a degree from The Commercial College of Iceland and would it not be a better job for me to become the financial director of the college than having half a job as a teacher. This was in 1987, I had just recovered from my second operation of a slipped disk in my back - so I said yes and worked there until 1991 when I got the grant to make this movie.
The college was in all the houses on the picture - other have a blue fog over them - and my office was where the green window is.

Countdown: Only 10 more blips to go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.