Woo, busy old day today.

Got a carpet cleaner from Tesco for 24 hours so straight in with that this morning. Rock'n'roll.

Had an hour or so with my rented dog in the sunshine, tried to keep him out of the dirty stinking ditches - and I was successful until minutes before the end of our walk. Bugger.

Today was Doors Open day for Edinburgh so I took in the ones closest to home.

The Priory Church of Saint Mary of Mount Carmel, South Queensferry. Dating back to 1440. Well, I've seen this little church countless times, from the outside, but had never been in. Small and simple but so pretty it almost brought me to tears.

Gogar Cabinet Works. In an old church with a churchyard. An amazing set up, wood, tools and furniture pieces everywhere. I listened to the carpenter telling a group of people about a table he's working on, a really beautiful piece, kind of mid-century style as they say these days (ie Ercol-y, G-Plan-y that used to be 'out' but now back 'in' among them there trendies). The elm had some from a tree cut down from a street in Bruntsfield.

Craigsbank Church - above - wow! A 1960's modernist beauty attached to a 1930's church at the back. The sun was high, the sky so blue and this building was throwing all sorts of shadows on itself. Not that you can see here, sorry.

Off to Gogar Walled Garden. When I got there, I realised that the grand house to which the garden belongs is the one I'd seen many times while walking the canal path with my dog and always wondered what it was. I heard people say its the home of Major someone-or-other. I don't know about that but I did see a man who dressed like a cross between Odd Job from James Bond and Toad of Toad Hall. Worth going just for that.

Finally, the Suntrap Garden. Had been looking forward to this most of all but this was the most disappointing. Is it closed down? Hard to tell but it's definitely up for sale and definitely delapidated. Such a shame.

Phew. Time for some telly and then my feathers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.