A Pigeon's View

It has been a busy day at Waddesdon for me.  I was on the Main Door, meeting people, checking tickets, persuading people to part company with their (very large) bags before coming in and taking their wet umbrellas from them.  There are two of us on this position and we take turns to be at the front or dealing with the brollies and children's house trails.  Today was really busy with non-stop queues of people to come in the House.  Waddesdon is a National Trust property but everyone still needs a timed ticket to get in - this is to control the numbers entering at any one time; whilst people have an entry time (and we are reasonably flexible on this) they can spend as long as they like inside.

It was quite exhausting so the couple of short breaks we get are very welcome.  This is a view of the Manor from outside our staff kitchen on my way for my lunch.  I noticed the pigeon casually resting on one of the most expensive rooftops in the country and thought about the view it was getting.  

I know it's too early for the C word, BUT if you are thinking of visiting in November or December, watch out for bookings on the website.  This will soon be going live and will sell out; even more important to book that Afternoon Tea if you fancy one over the Festive Season.  

I will organise the annual Waddesdon Christmas Blipmeet for mid-December so watch out also on the Blipmeet page.  I'll post a date as soon as bookings are online.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.