All These Things...

By Joestockdale

Reflecting Stars

This evening I went for a drive around the Lakes, I first went to Castlerigg and made my way down to Derwent water to get a few shots of the lake and all the vista points along the road to Watendlath. On the way home I stopped at Grasmere as well as taking the road up Kirkstone pass to stop and get some photos of the Milky way and some cars going down the bendy descent. Finally I stopped at Glenridding and went to the shore where all the Scotch Pine are and did a few long exposures and then went for this extremely long exposure (done using Startrails app and taking 50 photos at 30 seconds and 1600 ISO with the biggest possible aperture (F2.8).

This time I tried some different to my last long star trail processing by taking a photo in raw format of this frame but with just a little more exposure time at F3.5 to get a more crisp edge to the trees an fells. I processed it in using a suitable layer mask (masking off the sky and lake). After that I set the layer to lighten and it just gave the trees a bit more of sharp finish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.