Life Is Full Of Pictures

By ChrisJordan

Custer Collage

This blip is for my friend Kathee who is at the Buffalo Roundup in Custer State Park, South Dakota.

I went to the round up many years ago and did some tent camping. One of my friends called it a "Vision Quest", but I called it getting away from civilization to relax and recharge my batteries. I wanted to see a part of the country I had not been to before and this place fit the bill.

It is gorgeous in the Black Hills of South Dakota with so many things to see including Mt. Rushmore, a gold mine, and the Buffalo Round up. The year I went Kevin Costner was there but he was down with the other VIPs while I was up on the hill in the cheap (free) seats. It was quite an adventure and one I'll never forget.

I hope you are having the time of your life Kathee!!

I took these pictures with my Olympus OM4 film camera, previously blipped here. The picture of me on a rock was done with a tripod and the self-timer. The big buffalo you see here slept about 20 feet from my tent! I can tell you he snores! There was no fence between us! That is the campground road you see behind him. They roam free through the entire State Park and there is just one fence around the perimeter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.