Broad Bodied Chaser

With some decent weather today and a husband at work, I took the opportunity to visit two places that I'd not been to for quite some time - Woolston Eyes, which is a permit only Nature Reserve near Warrington and Moore Nature Reserve on the other side of the town.
I was a bit late for birds at Woolston, but there were plenty of butterflies and dragonflies.  In an effort to post something new for me, this broad bodied chaser posed very nicely for me, unlike most of the other large dragons.
After the lack of birds at the hides, I headed over to Moore to see if there was anything interesting about.
Moore is the place I saw my first kingfisher, but some vandals burnt down the Phoenix Hide a few months ago and it is still out of action.
The pump pool had a few little grebes and one great crested grebe with a chick, but apart from that and a few more butterflies, it was a bit of a let down. However, the sun has shone for most of the day and now it's time for more athletics :)
Maybe Usain Bolt will bow out with a win, like Sir Mo Farah last night - what an AMAZING race - I was shouting at the TV very loudly :)

A HUGE thank you for all the hearts, stars and lovely comments on yesterday's cuckoo. You are all so kind, and I was thrilled to see it. I need something special to beat that - it will stand as a special memory for me for quite some time :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.