Today's Special

By Connections

Full Day, Full Heart

I didn't get this in by the deadline for Saturday, so it's now a backblip. Considering all that we've done today, it's no wonder!

Phil and I spent time in two Tazewell cemeteries today, photographing tombstones of my relatives. I brought some small fronds of cedar from home to place on the stones of key people, among whom was Alexander St. Clair (1793-1862), who came in his mid-40s from Northern Ireland and married a woman half his age in Virginia. They were my maternal 2x great grandparents, and I'm still trying to figure out how he is connected with the St. Clairs of Roslyn Chapel, which we were brought up being told he was. It was a very moving experience for me to touch his tombstone, and those of other long-gone relatives.

Alexander and his Maryland-born wife, Martha, had nine children, the seventh of whom was my maternal great grandfather. One daughter died at age 19, another before her second birthday, and a third before her first birthday. Two other children died as infants only a few days old.

We also took photographs of other ancestors' tombstones at Maplewood Cemetery, as well as spending time at the Crab Orchard Museum, where I took today's blip of a door leading into the kitchen of an 1820s farmhouse relocated onto the museum property. I've always loved old doors, and the symbolism of a door opening reminded me of what this visit to an area of Virginia where so many of my ancestors lived and died means to me.

Phil and I also went to Battlemont, my maternal grandmother's family home, and visited my first cousin once removed, J St. Clair, and his wife, Z. Having just celebrated his 89th birthday, J is still busy on the farm -- he was "putting up the hay" today before our visit. It was his mother who painted my treasured image of Battlemont, and many others still gracing the walls of that family home. I am grateful to Phil for taking this informal portrait of me with J and Z, a wonderful reminder of our visit.

We arrived at my cousin W's home about 7:30 pm tonight, and between touring the beautiful old house, talking with my aunt, sharing family stories, and enjoying a leisurely late dinner, the evening flew. We're looking forward to having four nights here and seeing other relatives during our visit, a lovely way to end our vacation!

(Comments will resume once I'm home -- thanks for your patience!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.