Sat Nav Trouble!

No, not my SatNav, mine kept telling me to go the right way but on the way to Bromyard, Herefordshire, I saw a motorbike pulling out of Ledbury railway station (there's a bike shop in the grounds) and it turned out to be 'Cam' my RBL Rider friend who is the Herefordshire Rep for the RBLR.
We acknowledged each other on the go and I followed him, thinking he knows the area well.
Turns out he was following his SatNav (Garmin) and it took us down some very small, narrow, almost farm tracks. Lots of lovely wet Herefordshire red mud on the roads, big puddles from the torrential rain, and the blip main photo is the result!
When we got to Bromyard I said to him that my TomTom was telling me to go different ways but I thought he knew where he was going. It was then that he admitted his Garmin always does this to him.
I suggested, because I had the same trouble when mine was new, that there are two places to set 'Fastest' or 'Shortest' route, they both need to be set to Fastest, and make sure you untick 'Unpaved Roads'.

Anyway, we had a great parade, marched with the RBL veterans, Army cadets, standards and our parade marshal was an Army Warrant Officer who's current role is moulding Army Officer trainees into shape at Sandhurst. He really knows his stuff and was very funny, like that Tower of London guide if you've seen him on YouTube, it's worth searching for. After the parade there was a service in the grounds of the Community Centre, laying of 'in memoriam' crosses and wreaths, tea and cake afterwards.
Extras of the W.O. and the three riders that attended.

Video on YouTube showing why the Shadow was so dirty! Go to 4m 15sec if you don't want to watch Cam riding all the time.
https://youtu.be/MQndfy0i3vw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.