Misery

Poor little things - cold, wet and hungry. 

It was a bad night weather wise, and I hope not too many birds have started breeding yet.  If they have babies I doubt they'd survive the night with the high winds, and driving rain.

Today the plan is to stay indoors, do my Minutes from yesterday's meeting, and do a bit more research into gardens of the mid-Victorian era.

I am truly excited by the job I've taken on with the Old Government House garden.  I've been given carte blanche (more or less) to buy whatever I need, and that's going to be a lot.  I've discovered records showing the names and placement of the heritage roses the garden was famous for in the late 1990's.  Many have been lost, but they can be replaced.

It's like having my own garden, but in a way much better than that.  There's not much that can be done to the house or servant's quarters.  They are heritage listed and they are what they are; all we can do is maintain them.  But a garden is ever evolving. And...... I have a small army of volunteers who are going to help.   Thank goodness, because it's slowly dawning on me that I have taken on a job and a half, especially as I don't just want to maintain what's there - I want to return it to the showpiece it once was. 

The size?  Roughly an acre.  Gulp!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.