Snow Down Under

By snowy

LITTLE BIT OF SOUTH AFRICA:

Yes, this is Leucodendron 'Inca Gold' which you see growing all over the S. A. landscape. Definitely one of my favourite shrubs in the garden. My husband was a great rugby enthusiast (nut !) & for many, many years he followed the All Blacks to that amazing, fascinating country. After picking up a rental in JoBurg we often had 4/6 weeks traveling all over; I would come home & say - I simply had to have a Leucodendron or a Protea. Our very dry conditions aren't conducive to growing them, but finally, after many attempts, I have 2 growing. Regrettably, have never managed a Protea though. Watching a replay of the glorious Crusaders (well done boys) winning at Ellis Park this morning, reminded me this colourful shrub matches their Rainbow nation. I simply adore their country, but have to be honest & say I could never live there.

At 9am I measured 8.5mm of rain but it has been on & off, intermittently all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.