dailykeith

By dailykeith

Llandaff Cathedral

I got on my bike and, with my wife, cycled to Llandaff Cathedral, which I have not visited in the two years since moving to Cardiff. En route, we enjoyed a picnic in the sunshine in Pontcanna Fields - one of the joys of cycling rather than driving.

I was pleasantly surprised with the cathedral, in particular the 20th century architecture of George Pace, whose work includes the famous concrete arch across the nave and also the beautiful Welch Regiment memorial chapel, which is pictured above. He restored the cathedral after it was severely damaged by a parachute mine in 1941. The only cathedral to suffer worse damage during the war was Coventry's.

I was also surprised to see an impressive new organ, which someone was kindly playing during our visit. I have discovered that a lightning strike on the spire in 2007 sent a surge through the building that destroyed the original organ. Its replacement was inaugurated only seven years ago.

If you are visiting Cardiff, Llandaff is a good place to see. The location's connections with Christian worship date back to the sixth century AD and the setting is beautiful, with a picture postcard cathedral green, surrounded by pretty cottages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.