A Smoothie

What a disappointment. There was I, bouncing on the edge of my chair on another night watching the World Athletic championships and shouting encouragement to Usain Bolt to no avail. Not only did he not get gold, he had to be content with bronze. I have to say, I think I and the spectators were probably more disappointed that he didn't go out in a burst of glory than he was; his lap of honour was celebrated as though he had won; what a smoothie! Gaitlin was largely ignored.

A tradition was broken this morning at the Temple of Toast when I eschewed toast for a raspberry and banana smoothie. With no friends present and no papers to read, all was silent save for my noisy straw sucking and the crunching of toast opposite me.

It was a joy to walk home in unaccustomed sunshine and read the papers before a late walk round the marches.
And then it rained........again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.