Snapshots of my world

By yeeeeed

Come and explore - up hill and down dale!

I have ummed and I have ahhed (nothing new there!) about the areas and photos I could use as part of the current Blip Community challenge to showcase the area local to us. As we are allowed two entries, I decided I had to include one of the areas I love to cycle as one of my entries. 

This photo is taken from Cragg Vale, the longest continual incline in England, which begins in Mytholmroyd and finishes up on the top of the hills by Blackstone Edge Reservoir. The surrounding moorland can be extremely bleak in the winter, but that offers a certain mysterious beauty. On a clear day, you are treated to fantastic views including that of Stoodley Pike. You really gain a sense of being in the middle of nowhere, yet in reality you are not so isolated - but isn't that quite magical! 

I have included an extra of one of the vintage cars that whizzed past whilst cycling up to the top of the Oxenhope climb. The Hebden Bridge Vintage Car Weekend is taking place this weekend and is quite the spectacle. I'd always take visitors to Hebden Bridge too, as there really is no place like it!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.