Plus ça change...

By SooB

Perfect Day

Woken at 2am by the mother of all storms ("hurrah, no watering the garden tomorrow",I thought, as I put on the noise-cancelling headphones and Radio 4.) So I slept soundly until Mr B, driven in the early hours to read his book (I'm happy with this reason for insomnia as I want him to finish it soon so I can read it - it's another Neal Stephenson) left and - subjected to the full force of the fan - I woke up freezing cold.

Once the day properly began, it was perfect gardening weather so, with CarbBoy attacking the forest with a variety of implements, plus ninja skills, I stripped the grassy knoll of dead material, and accepted I'm going to have to find something more drought-tolerant to clothe it than grass.

Tortilla with TallGirl for lunch (though she still won't let me put onion in) then some musical lounging around with Mr B in the suddenly arrived hot sunshine. Here he is spicing up a Prosecco with Fig Liqueur. (Tasted bizarrely like Palma Violets.) Later a lizard fell on us. Later still, there will be food and daft telly (and hopefully the mouse hiding under the sofa which is annoying the rabbits and us will be 'evicted').

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.