Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Rural sports

Today the annual Asturias Day picnic, with rural sports, wood chopping, sawing, thowing the rod. Foklore groups in traditional costume, singing and dancing. There seemed to be fewer traditional groups with their elaborate picnic displays, but I guess that was down to the weather. Although it stayed dry there had been quite a bit of rain last night and the risk of more today. Neverthless a good turnout.

Earlier, before walking up to the headland for the picnic, I was popped out to get a plastic groundsheet. Crossing the Plaza Mayor I came accross a concentration of motorcyclists. Just as I arrived they strated a minute's silence, after which they returned to their mounts for a brief rev up then departure. I presume this was a tribute to Angel Nieto, the Spanish motorcyle racing ace who died a few days ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.