TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

A Lizard with a History

In the late 1880s my great-grandparents migrated form England and set up a foundry at the top of Bourke Street, in Melbourne. I can only imagine how Melbourne looked back then.
This lizard was cast at that foundry in the very early days and has been used as a door stop through four generations.  It has startled a lot of people on entering the room, but I am quite attached to it as I have relatively little knowledge of my family history.  The reason he is so mottled is because he has been painted over according to the decor of the time - most recently (40 years ago) from cream to black.  I must do something about that!
Of course he is not old by European standards, but relatively so in the context of Australia's colonial history.  The foundry,  has been long gone and the site now boasts a skyscraper the likes of which our forebears would never have imagined.
I hope it fits the theme for MM as I have not been as engaged as I should over these past few weeks.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.