My alternative diary

By chrisphoto

Mono Monday - OLD

My contribution to Mono Monday (OLD) is a photograph of an illuminated address presented to my Grandfather in 1919. It was hand crafted with the picture at the top of the address, a water colour.

He was an electrical engineer and his early career was spent at various locations around the world. My Dad was born in Newfoundland, my Aunt in Argentine and uncle in England. All these births related to work he was on at the time. I copy below the address that was signed by over forty individuals. 

It makes me very proud that so many people thought so much of a man, that I sadly never met as he died seven years before I was born. 

“We the undersigned representatives of the various contractors & other friends engaged on the Electrification work of the Buenos Aires Western Railway, being desirous of placing on record our warm thanks for the cordial assistance rendered to us by Mr Haydon, ask him to accept this address as a token of their appreciation & esteem, & trust that it will ever serve as a recuerdo of our amicable relations during the three years of construction in Dock Sud.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.