Cosmic Ray

We are bang in the heart of the Cognac producing area and there are lots of small producers creating great things (mainly Cognac, Pineau and wine). I asked Bill at dinner if he could recommend one and he told me to go and see Ray.

So I did. In hindsight going to see Ray at 10:30 this morning might not have been my best idea. Neither he nor his Son spoke any English so we communicated via my very poor French and a selection of grins, grunts and gestures. It seemed to work.

They showed me how they make it, well the things they use to make it. Lots of massive brass things with fire under them, for some reason they made me think of the engine room of the Nautilus. Pipes running everywhere, taps and dials. All very exciting. 

Then they insisted on a tasting. This is where it started to go a little  awry. They make 4 main products, the cheapest is probably as good as most Cognac that I've drunk (I've drunk a lot, normally at a clients expense), the normal stuff is excellent and the XO, a blend of 1973 and 1978 vintage was absolutely blinking lovely. Each sip of Cognac was accompanied by Raymond oohing and make a gesture with his hands sort of from his head via his throat to his belly. Every single sip. I ended up doing it with him, there was a lot of laughing at this point. 

A cousin appeared who spoke English and proceeded to add a narrative to everything and explained the difference between the types of Cognac. We then might have tried them again.

By this time it was 11:30am, the rest of the day has been rather quiet ;)

http://www.cognac-pineau-bossis.com/index.php/qui-sommes-nous/qui-sommes-nous

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.