Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Clematis seedhead - MM185, 'Old'

This is the seedhead from a very early flowering clematis in my garden.  It follows, therefore, that it's been around for longer than most seedheads I have on my patch - 'old' for the purposes of this week's MonoMonday (and it's wild brother is known as 'old man's beard' to many of us in the UK).  When younger, the seedheads have thick swept-back strands, very silky and pink like the flowers.  You can see here, though, how those strands have burst open to show each feathery white filament.  I suppose at this point by rights the seeds should break off and float away, but somehow they never do.  Our fault for interfering with their genes?

Thanks to The Aphid for hosting this month's MonoMondays.

Not much else to say about today.  it was grey and  - probably because I'm tired - I landed up have a major, ahem, disagreement with BT, who have paid my neighbour compensation for our week of no phoneline but are refusing to pay me.  Bizarre doesn't even begin to describe it.  Obstructiveness does.

However, don't feel too sorry for me, I thrive on sympathy but am sure I did something very wicked in my life as a snail/hyena/rabbit/pike (delete as appropriate) to deserve it.

Wishing you all a fun evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.