Old Technology (MM185)

What to blip for old ... I thought about some of the old hand tools I inherited from my father and still use ... but I guess that means they just time served rather than old ... one can still buy spanners hammers and screwdrivers and a modern electric drill is perhaps not so different from the ones available 40 years ago?

So I started to think about what would happen for something to be referred to as old and that led to the march of technology and how quickly something can appear outmoded or out of date. 

This iPod classic has done sterling service but is now almost completely replaced by streaming and on-line services.  It still functions just fine and has much of our CD collection saved onto it.  It's major use was for Podcasts when I was learning German,  but even that is now easier via any one of a number of smart phone apps. 

It is not entirely redundant though, it sits in a cradle, connected to the hifi and I still use it for the occasional playlist ... just can't quite see when I'll next have it connected to the PC?

run up iTunes,  
update iTunes,
copy a CD or buy a song on line
find the lead
connect the iPod
sync
play!

Thanks to The Aphid for hosting Mono Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.