Scribbler

By scribbler

New hairdo, old struggle

Mono Monday :: Old :: June page from my Scribbles journal.

THE STRUGGLE WITH HAIR

"I love my silver bob after decades of a crewcut. But it's 103º today! Hot on my neck. Let it grow long enough to braid? Chop it off? I bought kid elastics and kid barrettes and managed side ponytails. Not elegant, but cool."

------------------

My old California women's group met once a month (at a different home each time) for bagels and coffee (always the same) to hold forth on an assigned topic — mainly for fun, though sometimes veering into the serious. Each woman spoke for an allotted period, and no one was allowed to interrupt, comment, or question. This left us free to say whatever was on our minds.

HAIR was the most popular topic ever. Cutting it, shaving it, dyeing it, streaking it, bleaching it, plucking it, waxing it, letting it grow ... head, face, arms, legs, and everywhere in between. 

Closing time came and went, and we couldn't stop talking about HAIR.
So what's new? According to The New Yorker, it's a guy thing too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.